Call Today! 407-218-6265
Traffic Violation Questions
Criminal Law in Orlando and throughout Central Florida
How many points must be accrued to mandate an automatic driver’s license suspension for traffic ticket convictions?
Florida drivers will lose their driver’s license if they accrue 12 points within a certain time period. A traffic offender is subject to losing his or her driving privileges based on point accrual, regardless of violation type. Hiring a Central Florida Traffic Violation Attorney to work against conviction can help keep your driving record intact and prevent a license suspension due to point accrual.
How does a traffic violation affect a commercial driver?
Commercial drivers may be terminated in the commercial driving industry if convicted of one or more traffic violations. Those convicted of a multiple number of violations can lose their Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) and their ability to make a living with that license. If you are facing a second or greater offense, you may lose your CDL.
What happens to habitual traffic offenders?
As a habitual traffic offender in Florida, your license will be revoked for 5 years. If you get caught driving while a habitual offender you can be arrested for a felony and face up to five years in prison, see our driving with a suspended license page for more info. Hire an experienced traffic violation attorney to help avoid your license from being habitualized.
How many points will be assessed against my driver’s license?
Your point accrual will depend on the Florida violation committed. Some violations and their corresponding points are listed below:
- Non-moving violation – 0 points
- Moving violation (non-speeding, no accident) – 3 points
- Moving violation (non-speeding, resulting in an accident) - 4 points
- Speeding less than 15 miles over the speed limit – 3 points
- Speeding 15 miles or more over the speed limit – 4 points
- Speeding resulting in an accident – 6 points
- Passing a stopped school bus – 4 points
- Reckless driving – 4 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident with damage – 6 points
- HOV Lane Violation – 0 points
- Failure to stop at traffic signal – 4 points
Visit the Florida DMV website for more information on the point system:
Can I attend traffic school to prevent a violation from affecting my record?
Traffic school in lieu of a point violation may be an option depending on your particular violation and driving record. In some cases a mandatory court appearance is required. Also there is only a limited number of times you can use a school in any calendar year or in an entire lifetime. Therefore consult an experienced Central FloridaTraffic Violation Attorney if you need help.
Will my insurance premiums go up?
Depending on the violation and your insurance company’s policies, you may face increased premiums or even be dropped as a policy holder. First time offenders may be subjected to increased rates, but offenders facing the label of habitual traffic offender can expect the insurance company to cancel the policy. Before you talk to your insurance company and admit to a violation, talk to a traffic violation attorney about your options.
Contact our Orlando Traffic Violation Attorney for a free initial consultation about Florida Traffic Violations. We are here to answer your questions day and night in Central Florida including Orlando.